mistressofmuses (
mistressofmuses) wrote2022-05-10 09:33 pm
Entry tags:
May 09: Hudson Gardens (Part 1: Flowers)
I took enough pictures it was worth splitting it into two posts. :) This post is just for the flowers.
This was a bit too early for most things to be blooming (our usual frost-free date is Mother's Day, so annuals weren't planted yet, and things like lilacs seem to be a touch late this year.) But what there was was very nice!

They did have some pansies!
I should have taken a picture of the apparatus as a whole, but the planter has a pair of kaleidoscopes pointed at it. (It's very steampunk-looking.) You can look through the kaleidoscopes and turn them as well as the planter itself. It's very cool!

The pansies through the kaleidoscope.

There were many trees still blooming, many of which smelled wonderful! This was definitely the most intense and flower-laden.

Some nice irises over by the admin building.

This is a nostalgic flower for me - a huge section of our front garden had these grown wild. My mom took one with her when we moved, but it died a few winters ago. We always called them "blue lace", and I forget what their actual name is. They aren't forget-me-nots, though they look a little similar.
Their cafe was open, so we stopped and had some coffee (for Alex) and a smoothie (for me.) Very good, and a lovely day to get to sit outside for a while.

Another pink flowering tree.

Very ruffly pink flowers.

A waterfall along the stream and "mountain" section.

And a lovely purple iris.
Post two will have all the animals we saw - bees, fish, turtles, a frog. (Also lots of birds, but failed to get good pictures of them.)
It was a very nice walk, though unfortunately Alex was in a lot of pain from the disk issues in his neck, and I came away with a *really* bad sunburn. (Didn't think about the fact that the sunscreen was back at our apartment until we'd already gotten there. I need to start keeping it in the car. Ouch.)
This was a bit too early for most things to be blooming (our usual frost-free date is Mother's Day, so annuals weren't planted yet, and things like lilacs seem to be a touch late this year.) But what there was was very nice!
They did have some pansies!
I should have taken a picture of the apparatus as a whole, but the planter has a pair of kaleidoscopes pointed at it. (It's very steampunk-looking.) You can look through the kaleidoscopes and turn them as well as the planter itself. It's very cool!
The pansies through the kaleidoscope.
There were many trees still blooming, many of which smelled wonderful! This was definitely the most intense and flower-laden.
Some nice irises over by the admin building.
This is a nostalgic flower for me - a huge section of our front garden had these grown wild. My mom took one with her when we moved, but it died a few winters ago. We always called them "blue lace", and I forget what their actual name is. They aren't forget-me-nots, though they look a little similar.
Their cafe was open, so we stopped and had some coffee (for Alex) and a smoothie (for me.) Very good, and a lovely day to get to sit outside for a while.
Another pink flowering tree.
Very ruffly pink flowers.
A waterfall along the stream and "mountain" section.
And a lovely purple iris.
Post two will have all the animals we saw - bees, fish, turtles, a frog. (Also lots of birds, but failed to get good pictures of them.)
It was a very nice walk, though unfortunately Alex was in a lot of pain from the disk issues in his neck, and I came away with a *really* bad sunburn. (Didn't think about the fact that the sunscreen was back at our apartment until we'd already gotten there. I need to start keeping it in the car. Ouch.)

no subject
Too bad it didn't feel nice by the end.
no subject
Though the sunburn is... not fun. A couple tiny blisters today. And Alex's poor neck is just a fucking mess.
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
(Though the bluebells are genuinely gorgeous.)
no subject
no subject
It's sucky that you're being held captive by Linda's inability to take care of herself. That's... unfair of me. Health things suck, and that is a very legitimate reason for her not to be driving! But... it also doesn't seem like her health stuff is going to improve, so I'm afraid that if that's the reason you can't leave, that it will *always* be the reason you can't leave. :/ Though I certainly hope that's not the case, and that you really do get out of there by next year at the latest.
no subject
But because of those mini-episodes, she's not supposed to be driving. The doc even said that, and the State doesn't give a fuck and won't make it easier for her to work from home anymore other than what she's working it out part time until her FMLA is through. Joe can only take so much time off to drive her to appts, so Kathy doesn't feel like she can leave until these first rounds of Linda's kidney and heart appts are taken care of, and she thinks that by that point, Joe should be in a better position to take her when she needs - or that she should be able to reach out to someone else.
Kathy REALLY wants to move, too, so she doesn't want to string this along forever. Plus, I think she realizes that if she does, I'll just try and talk to one of my friends over there about helping me move out there and letting me stay with them until I've got a job and can afford my own place that'll take me and Darji. Kathy knows that I'm not going to stay here forever; I think she realizes that I would deteriorate pretty fast if that happened.
no subject
State jobs seem like they can be really good, if you have the *right* state job, but the best benefits can be hard to actually get access to, and unsurprisingly the bureaucracy can be the absolute worst. I'm glad you never wound up in such a shitty job!
I hope that she and Joe don't try to pull any guilting bullshit when Kathy stops being the always-available ride and does need Joe (or someone else) to step up and take over. I know that the guilting is effective on Kathy.
It's definitely understandable that she wants to leave them in a good - or at least better - position, as long as it doesn't turn into one reason after another to delay the move! You need to get out of there, for your own wellbeing.