mistressofmuses (
mistressofmuses) wrote2024-07-15 08:33 pm
Dismissed from jury duty!
Got up way too damn early to go to the courthouse. (After not sleeping well, since I was of course terrified that my alarm wouldn't go off or something. Plus Cy wanted tucking in around 2:00, and Bella got up at about 3:00 and thought the fact I got up to check on her meant I was game for play time...)
The security line was just bonkers long.
Got to walk down the hall to the jury room behind a guy loudly talking about how glad he was to be here for something other than his own case for a change... which he then elaborated was because he was guilty at the January 6th insurrection, and proud of it. (Turned out he didn't even have jury duty, and was in the wrong place.)
Got to watch an educational video called "The Colorado Juror," once in the jury room. It was not quite dated enough to be charming, but just enough to be at least slightly amusing. (Reminders not to talk about active trials, including via blog posts, chat rooms, or social media like MySpace, lol.)
Got a pep talk from the jury commissioner. Got a second smaller pep talk from one of the district judges.
There were 7 cases for the day, four of which drew their pools pretty early, but I wasn't picked. The other three were still in "pre-trial deliberations," so we had to wait for them to finish that stage. I think it was only about two hours total, and ultimately all three of the remaining cases decided not to progress to trial.
So hooray, my civic duty has been satisfied for 2024.
Still not really how I would have chosen to spend my day off, but at least it's done!
-
We were also being held hostage by our apartments for two days - again - so they can have smoke detector testing today and tomorrow. (Which doesn't require us to be present, but requires dogs not be left loose, and it's still too hot to take them with us anywhere. Bella has a kennel, but Cy doesn't.) Since we HAD to go out without them, because Alex also had an appointment, we put Cy in the bathroom with a note on the door that said "THERE IS A DOG IN HERE."
Apparently they aren't required to actually tell us when they enter the apartment - which I hate, but they only have to tell us in advance that they are going to - but the closet doors were centered rather than closed when we came back, so presumably that's been taken care of, too.
Came home and napped.
The security line was just bonkers long.
Got to walk down the hall to the jury room behind a guy loudly talking about how glad he was to be here for something other than his own case for a change... which he then elaborated was because he was guilty at the January 6th insurrection, and proud of it. (Turned out he didn't even have jury duty, and was in the wrong place.)
Got to watch an educational video called "The Colorado Juror," once in the jury room. It was not quite dated enough to be charming, but just enough to be at least slightly amusing. (Reminders not to talk about active trials, including via blog posts, chat rooms, or social media like MySpace, lol.)
Got a pep talk from the jury commissioner. Got a second smaller pep talk from one of the district judges.
There were 7 cases for the day, four of which drew their pools pretty early, but I wasn't picked. The other three were still in "pre-trial deliberations," so we had to wait for them to finish that stage. I think it was only about two hours total, and ultimately all three of the remaining cases decided not to progress to trial.
So hooray, my civic duty has been satisfied for 2024.
Still not really how I would have chosen to spend my day off, but at least it's done!
-
We were also being held hostage by our apartments for two days - again - so they can have smoke detector testing today and tomorrow. (Which doesn't require us to be present, but requires dogs not be left loose, and it's still too hot to take them with us anywhere. Bella has a kennel, but Cy doesn't.) Since we HAD to go out without them, because Alex also had an appointment, we put Cy in the bathroom with a note on the door that said "THERE IS A DOG IN HERE."
Apparently they aren't required to actually tell us when they enter the apartment - which I hate, but they only have to tell us in advance that they are going to - but the closet doors were centered rather than closed when we came back, so presumably that's been taken care of, too.
Came home and napped.

no subject
😬😬😬
I would really hate if maintenance people could come in at will unless it was for a flooding or some other emergency... :( Chuckling a bit at "THERE IS A DOG IN HERE" note though, what an image 😂 That seems to be out of the way at least, and glad that you don't have to use your leave time for jury duty.
no subject
Ugh, SAME. Most of the times they come in, it's for reasonable things, but it still feels invasive, especially when it happens frequently. I also really wish they would let us know when they have come in, just so we know it's done.
Haha, the dog note made me smile, too. The full note said "There is a dog in the bathroom! (There is no smoke detector in the bathroom.)"
Though it occurred to me later that they may have wanted to look in the bathroom because there is a sprinkler in there, and last time they wanted to check those as well. If they did open the door to look, there's a chance Cy didn't even notice, because he is completely deaf.
I am relieved to be done with jury duty for the year, at least!
no subject
Not talk about the trial you are on? You mean the thing the actual jurors for the case I was alternate on could NOT stop doing?
That really sucks that they can just come in and don't give tighter windows, or let you pick times.
no subject
UGH. That doesn't surprise me. The case I served on didn't have too much of that, but only because there wasn't an opportunity. Considering some of the jurors' inability to follow other basic directions, I imagine it would have been a problem if the opportunity arose.
Right? I deeply wish they'd at least narrow it down to a window of a few hours. Two days is long enough to be very frustrating, and limits the things we'd ordinarily be doing. If they'd at least tell us when they were done, that would help, so we'd know we were okay to go after that. I'm glad they left the closet doors askew this time, so we felt okay to leave the apartment today.
no subject
Ugh, that guy.
It sounds really inconvenient to live in an apartment with so many checks.
no subject
That guy was certainly *a* way to start the morning... wasn't sorry he wasn't actually going in for jury service.
Ugh, it IS really inconvenient! And annoying! I realize that most of the things are reasonable - preventive pest checks, smoke alarm checking, inspecting that all appliances are in working order. Others feel less reasonable, like the annual inspections by the building investors, but those are a condition of living here. (Those always feel gross and condescending, though.) But... it in general feels controlling and invasive. And also inconvenient when it means we have to plan days at a time around making sure someone is here and/or that the dogs are with us every time we leave.
no subject
Oh, fun. >.<
But you're free now!
no subject
I am very glad to be free!
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
Colorado is VERY strict about having almost zero things that exempt you: financial consideration (even things like "missing that much work without pay will cause me to be unable to pay my bills and I could face eviction"), religious events or beliefs, age... none of those exempt you. They even make it clear that being out of the country is not a reason to not appear; you fly back, or you pay a fine and/or go to jail.
The only time I was able to get an exemption was when I was in college, and that was only because that meant I was out of the county more than 50% of the time.
no subject
no subject
They do ask questions to try and narrow down biases and such, but that's after reporting. Because yeah, it's absolutely true that sometimes you can't promise to be objective, because you will have an emotional reaction and connection to something.
This time, the four cases that did go to trial each pulled 18 people from the juror pool to go up for further questioning by the judge and the involved lawyers, so presumably they intended to cut a third of them loose.
But they also don't ask everyone the same questions to determine bias, or at least they didn't at the city case. They asked the woman ahead of me some questions, and the fact she answered 'yes' meant she was dismissed. My answer to the same questions would also have been yes, but I was asked different things, so I was on the jury.
I would always do my best to avoid being biased, and give my fair assessment of any case I was asked to be a juror on. But yeah, I think I'm probably a lot less likely to take a cop as an absolute authority, because I KNOW how biased they are and how fucked up policing is as a whole. I feel like that's more of a reason it would be a good thing to be on a jury, and at least I'm capable of following the damn instruction (unlike at least one of the guys on the last one I was on)... but I guess a lot of people probably feel like they'd be a better arbiter than average, ha.