mistressofmuses (
mistressofmuses) wrote2025-08-01 10:07 pm
Entry tags:
Writing Goals/Calendar: August 2025
This year has not been great for writing. That really started to get to me around the end of June/beginning of July, ending up moving from frustration to a sort of apathy regarding writing in general. I'd reached a point where I didn't really enjoy anything about the process: I wasn't having fun planning things, I wasn't inspired by any of the things I'd been trying to work on, the actual writing felt like a miserable grind, and I wasn't even struggling through enough to create anything that I was happy about in the end.
I trimmed back my expectations for what to do in July pretty significantly, hoping that maybe focusing on some media intake or other things would start to make me feel a bit better about writing in general, if this was primarily a case of burnout.
Mixed success!
The goals I'd set for myself in July were:
- Finish the current WIP's chapter
- Finish snowflake part 3 for the Worldhopping Fairytale Monstrosity fic
- Take a break until something else feels exciting
How that went:
- I didn't work on the WIP
- I didn't work on the snowflake outline
- I *did* mostly take a break
Tangent that I promise feels relevant: I basically never experience much of an effect from caffeine, though I drink it fairly frequently, whether as coffee or tea or as energy drinks. Despite rarely noticing an effect, I always *hope* it'll wake me up at work, and the primary effect it does have when I do notice it is a slight improvement in my ability to focus. (Common ADHD self-medication usage.)
I was solo at work one weekend day mid-month, and I bought myself an energy drink in the hopes of focusing better while on my own for a long stretch. For some reason, the caffeine actually hit me, and gave me a burst of energy and focus (bordering on anxiety, but not actually ever quite tipping over badly.) I immediately turned that focus toward the entirely wrong thing: the desire to plan out a bunch of potential writing under a pseudonym.
Not gonna lie, the focused enthusiasm was a pretty enjoyable experience. It's been a really long time!
While that caffeine-fueled excitement wore off pretty fast (and I really do not know why it happened in the first place), part of that core idea seems solid to me. Writing under a name that isn't actually connected to my own has some appeal. One of the many issues I've had is the inability to get out of my own way, or ultimately becoming paralyzed over thinking that something I'm writing feels a little too personally revealing, or a bit too catered to my id... Not having to tie that writing to me as a person might be a bit freeing, haha.
Unfortunately, the interest in doing that hasn't really made it to the "actually motivated to work on things" stage, beyond a couple short bursts. Time management is still a lot of it, as always. It just feels like there aren't enough hours in the day, and it's almost always the thing that's shuffled to the bottom of the priority list. We've been spending so much more time hiking and things this year, I don't really have time even on my days off. That's not a complaint - I'm delighted not to be wasting the summer weather - but it does mean that time isn't going toward other things. Perhaps once the weather turns?
As always, it is primarily the need to reprioritize things, or make peace with this not being the priority for me right now. It may be the latter: I don't want to do less on my days off, I don't want to cut back on the reading that I'm actually managing, I want to keep posting photos from the stuff we go do even though that's time-consuming too.
If it never gets to become a priority, it's never going to *happen*, and I of course always have the option to reshuffle what I want to be spending my time on, but for now... I want to try to fit it in, but we'll see how much time I can actually carve out for it.
Goals for August:
- get a sort of intro blurb done for the pseudonym
- do some prioritizing and assessment of ideas
- I swear, I've got to get that stupid outline done, this is just silly
- maybe the WIP chapter
We'll see how things go. I'm at least feeling more optimistic about the idea of writing as a whole concept this month, compared to last, haha.
I trimmed back my expectations for what to do in July pretty significantly, hoping that maybe focusing on some media intake or other things would start to make me feel a bit better about writing in general, if this was primarily a case of burnout.
Mixed success!
The goals I'd set for myself in July were:
- Finish the current WIP's chapter
- Finish snowflake part 3 for the Worldhopping Fairytale Monstrosity fic
- Take a break until something else feels exciting
How that went:
- I didn't work on the WIP
- I didn't work on the snowflake outline
- I *did* mostly take a break
Tangent that I promise feels relevant: I basically never experience much of an effect from caffeine, though I drink it fairly frequently, whether as coffee or tea or as energy drinks. Despite rarely noticing an effect, I always *hope* it'll wake me up at work, and the primary effect it does have when I do notice it is a slight improvement in my ability to focus. (Common ADHD self-medication usage.)
I was solo at work one weekend day mid-month, and I bought myself an energy drink in the hopes of focusing better while on my own for a long stretch. For some reason, the caffeine actually hit me, and gave me a burst of energy and focus (bordering on anxiety, but not actually ever quite tipping over badly.) I immediately turned that focus toward the entirely wrong thing: the desire to plan out a bunch of potential writing under a pseudonym.
Not gonna lie, the focused enthusiasm was a pretty enjoyable experience. It's been a really long time!
While that caffeine-fueled excitement wore off pretty fast (and I really do not know why it happened in the first place), part of that core idea seems solid to me. Writing under a name that isn't actually connected to my own has some appeal. One of the many issues I've had is the inability to get out of my own way, or ultimately becoming paralyzed over thinking that something I'm writing feels a little too personally revealing, or a bit too catered to my id... Not having to tie that writing to me as a person might be a bit freeing, haha.
Unfortunately, the interest in doing that hasn't really made it to the "actually motivated to work on things" stage, beyond a couple short bursts. Time management is still a lot of it, as always. It just feels like there aren't enough hours in the day, and it's almost always the thing that's shuffled to the bottom of the priority list. We've been spending so much more time hiking and things this year, I don't really have time even on my days off. That's not a complaint - I'm delighted not to be wasting the summer weather - but it does mean that time isn't going toward other things. Perhaps once the weather turns?
As always, it is primarily the need to reprioritize things, or make peace with this not being the priority for me right now. It may be the latter: I don't want to do less on my days off, I don't want to cut back on the reading that I'm actually managing, I want to keep posting photos from the stuff we go do even though that's time-consuming too.
If it never gets to become a priority, it's never going to *happen*, and I of course always have the option to reshuffle what I want to be spending my time on, but for now... I want to try to fit it in, but we'll see how much time I can actually carve out for it.
Goals for August:
- get a sort of intro blurb done for the pseudonym
- do some prioritizing and assessment of ideas
- I swear, I've got to get that stupid outline done, this is just silly
- maybe the WIP chapter
We'll see how things go. I'm at least feeling more optimistic about the idea of writing as a whole concept this month, compared to last, haha.

no subject
no subject
no subject
Not a bad place to land! *hugs* May the motivation start to follow.
no subject
no subject
Starting my first additional Ao3 psued was a game changes for me, writing wise.
If the weather is good and the air is clear, it's good to take advantage of it. You are very productive overall, even if recently time had been a pain in the butt.
no subject
Ha! I should at least try taking some aesthetic pictures! And making some moodboards, haha.
I tried one other time to sort of create an alternative account, but I didn't really end up using it, and in some places the attempt still just made it an alt to my main account, so it never truly felt all the way separate. I am hopeful it'll be a help. There are some things I want to write, but that I'm a bit afraid could be too personally revealing to want to share, haha.
Thank you. I do really appreciate that! It's frustrating to feel like I've been stuck for so long.
no subject
My Ao3 accounts are fully separate, different emails and also different color schemes so my brain knows intuitively which one it is.
no subject
Yeah, the previous attempt at a different account had a separate email and an AO3 account, but was just a sideblog on tumblr, so it wasn't *really* all the way separate. I'm not burning that account or anything, but it just wasn't quite enough of the separation I was looking for, I think.
Making sure the color schemes are different is a good point - just being able to mentally separate them is definitely helpful.
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
I think I tried too hard to avoid that sort of thing for a while, to the point it really did sort of sap some of the fun out of things. Along with a bunch of other bad writing advice that I've struggled to unlearn, I remember a really harsh wave of basically "no fun allowed" attitudes when it came to daydreaming about success or "romanticizing" the writing process or identity of being a writer... when like... yeah, you've got to do the writing part eventually, too, but there's nothing wrong with having fun or enjoying the process and the vibe and the aesthetic of what you're doing!
If you aren't having fun at least some of the time, then why do it??
no subject
no subject
Sure, I've seen people who really do seem to *only* be into the aesthetic vibe, and don't actually want to do any real writing, but... there's also no real harm in that? Let them have a cute latte and a fancy notebook if they want??
I understand that, like you said, someone going viral for purely aesthetic stuff (or the aesthetic stuff becoming like, the popular conception of writing, as opposed to the actual writing) can be annoying or frustrating... but being a killjoy about people wanting to *enjoy the thing they are doing* really isn't terribly helpful.
no subject
I mean, we've had some booktok BS with people pre-selling books based on their aesthetic and selling the story of them as a writer, but that's only been super recent. We just had a new one: Audra Winter. OMG is that is debacle. But like, deciding that none of us can have fun forever based on that is so drama-damaged.
no subject
Oh yes - there are certainly bad aspects of selling an aesthetic with nothing propping it up. Scammers gonna scam. I don't think I've heard about Audra Winter! I know that there was a lot of attention on Britt Andrews recently, and a huge amount of kickstarter money that seems to have vanished with nary a book to show for it, but that's been brewing for a while.
But exactly: deciding that everything must be the equivalent of utilitarian gruel and plain white walls forever because fun is a sign of the devil... is also not the way, haha. Deeply drama-damaged.
no subject
It's all very 'okay, y'all got scammed, but why did these tactics work on you?' I don't know if she meant to scam or just got caught up in her own bullshit.
no subject
Perhaps she didn't intend it to be a grift... but that pattern sounds like someone doing it deliberately.
no subject
She certainly fits a pattern that we've seen lots of. Even her critics are trying to give her the benefit of the doubt and act like she accidentally stumbled into just what the tiktok algo wanted. But either this was a grift or she's just gotten so lost in the sauce of trying to be what gets the most likes online that she's in a scary place. Don't know which is worse. For her sake, I hope she's a grifter. The alternative is scary.
Her not doing the line edits she paid to have an editor suggest because she was so overwhelmed with running the business side of things and her saying that she has to keep doing this because 'being an author is her brand', yeah, not great.
no subject
Honestly, I think you're right: it's a lot better if she's just a grifter, because it's a lot scarier if she stumbled onto this without trying to. But it really is the same sort of grifter pattern that crops up again and again... playing up the "underdog/disadvantaged/impoverished" angle when that plays better, and pivoting to "boss-babe/hustling/six figures/business owner" angle if that seems like it's going to get more respect/attention/buy-in.
But fucking wow on "being an author is my *brand*; I'm too busy for you to expect me to actually do any of the actual *writing*!" Astounding.
no subject
Also scary that people were so into supporting her. I feel like people wanting in on the ground floor of the next big thing is part of it.
no subject
no subject
no subject
So I knew *all of the above* and never really put together that "oh right, people collect these" haha. (I was so used to thinking of collecting being like... having the rare first edition of something that later became popular, not preemptively collecting, or getting different editions of something fairly current.)
But oh, that is such a shitty way to game the refund policy! There are people who do the same thing with "pre-sales" in the model hobby, though most people seem to have gotten wise to it. But yeah, having the "freebie" thing fulfill the order as far as the system is concerned is a really terrible way to take advantage of it!
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
Fingers crossed that the pseudonym helps. I think that degree of separation might!
The different reaction to caffeine does seem to be fairly common with ADHD! The brain does weird stuff.
Appreciate the good vibes, and hoping to keep things going!
no subject
Also, I hear you on having too many things to do on days off, or just in general. It's a constant push and pull to prioritize. I guess that's just being an adult? Ugh.
no subject
Being an adult sucks, lol! It is really rough to have to prioritize all the different things that need doing, the balance between making the most of my time "off," but also needing to do like... life management stuff and take care of responsibilities, etc. Never enough time!