mistressofmuses: Image of nebulae in the colors of the bi pride flag: pink, purple, and blue (Default)
It's been a little bit. Have some pics of some creatures.


Bella yearns for apples.

(From back when I was trying to slowly work up to more solid food, ha.)


Pictures of Bella, Berry Mad, Guava Splash, Ripley, and Jaspurr:

Bella watches the Westminster Dog Show.

(The American Kennel Club does not recognize the American Pit Bull Terrier as a breed, which is why Bella does her FastCAT and other titles under the "All American Dog" category. American Staffordshire Terrier is the closest to her breed.)


Majestic.


Cozy.


Berry Mad has turned her entire pond into her personal mud puddle.


Guava Splash!


Watching you.


Ripley the garter snake!


Ripley says :P


And Jaspurr! No one will out-comfy him.


In unrelated news, I did not dodge the cough. :( I hoped I was in the clear, because Alex was coughing by day three or four. After a week, I figured I was safe... but day nine? I think? brought the cough, which has only gotten worse today.

But in surgery recovery, the scabs and all their accompanying glue are finally gone! Incision sites are still quite tender, but seem to be healing up really well. I've had occasional twinges in my lower right abdomen (where my appendix was), but very slight and pretty infrequent, so nothing I'm too worried about.

Right now I really just wish the cold and accompanying cough would go away! I thought I was on the mend on Thursday, when I woke up still sick, but feeling much better than previous days... but alas, it was a false alarm, and I was back to crappy yesterday and today, but with extra cough! It's been kicking my ass, and I've been struggling to do much of anything the last several days. I'll try to get caught back up here as soon as I can.
mistressofmuses: Image of nebulae in the colors of the bi pride flag: pink, purple, and blue (Default)
Poor Clickbait has finally passed on to the greenbean fields in the sky.



He was the first katydid Alex caught last summer. August 6th was the first day I heard a katydid clicking in the trees, and Alex caught him later that same night.

He was the smallest of the three that we had last year, and the "fussiest." He would make little tiny territorial clicks at just about everything; water running in the sink and cereal bags crinkling were big for him, haha. He acted like he wanted to make sure everyone knew that he was the toughest katydid in the room!

And it turns out he was! Typically broad-winged katydids like ours only live a couple months as adults; the two from last year both died in October, I think, and the two others from this year died in late October/early November. When Clickbait was still going strong, I thought it would be really cool if he made it all the way to December, but I didn't expect it. Then he did. Then I thought "Christmas? Christmas katydid?" And he was here at Christmas! "All the way to the new year??" And he made it to the new year!

I was very sad he finally passed, though a little glad he waited until I was home from the hospital. (I returned late on Thursday; he passed on Saturday morning.) He clicked all the way up through the end, with plenty to say even on Friday night! But he didn't eat his Friday night beans, and then he went down to the bottom of the cage, which is always how it goes at the end. :(

It's hard to even say "aw, poor guy" because he lived more than twice, approaching three times as long as expected! He was just about two weeks shy of hitting six months, which is wild!

I'll miss him. He was a fun little guy to have, and the overnights are just a little too quiet without him click-click-clicking like mad. I hope that some of our katydid eggs (most of which were probably sired by Three, but some of which were sired by Clickbait) will hatch, and we might have some of his progeny roaming around.


(Eating green beans, his truest love.)




For me: I am recovering! The process of trying to gather everything required for the leave application has been the biggest frustration and time sink and stress of the last week. (There will probably be a bigger post about how much I hate government paperwork later.) For now, it at least feels like things are improving. Food has mostly been sitting well, though I'm still trying to be really cautious. (Lots of soup. Lots of yogurt. Some toast.) I would commit minor crime for a pizza or something, but I think that'll have to be a few days out, still. My guts are still not right, but seem to be slightly better than they were. My incision sites still look pretty gross, but are healing well. Trying to walk more, as advised, to deal with the fact that I am still just bonkers bloated.

Thank you so, so much for all the kind thoughts and comments. I'm going to try to respond to at least the most recent ones. I am also going to try to get caught up on the weeks of stuff I've missed here, but it'll take me a while. I hope everyone else has had a better few weeks than I have!
mistressofmuses: Image of nebulae in the colors of the bi pride flag: pink, purple, and blue (Default)
I doubt I'll end up doing all the [community profile] snowflake_challenge posts this year, but here's an easy one!

As if I need an excuse to post pet pics. :)

So here are the critters, ringing in the new year (ish).


Belladonna! (She really does still have ears, I promise.)


Summer "Berry Mad" Refresher, the Woodhouse's toad, dug down into a hole.


Guava Splash Electrolyte, my very chubby little chorus frog.


(This picture is from Alex.) It's Clickbait, the katydid! I am *blown away* (and delighted) that we still have a living katydid into the new year.

Bonus pet:


Jaspurr, my mom and younger sibling's cat.

(Not pictured: Ripley, my mom and younger sibling's garter snake. I don't have any new pictures of her since last time.)
mistressofmuses: Image of nebulae in the colors of the bi pride flag: pink, purple, and blue (Default)
I do not feel ready for it to be December.

Here, have some pictures (mostly) of pets:


Bella, in front of a historical chimney in one of the city parks.


Six more, of Bella and of Jaspurr

Bella blep in front of the chimney.


Will be crazy for pupcups.


A bonus shark costume picture of Bella, from later on Halloween. I appreciate the tail too blurry from wagging.


Snuggly little Bella.


Jaspurr toe beans!


His default setting is nap, but he's so damn cute.



What toad? I don't see a toad.


Seven more, of Berry Mad, of Guava Splash, and one of Ripley

Sometimes Berry Mad has taken to just digging a pit to sit in, rather than burrowing entirely.


Tall, noble toad.


She is pudgy!


Guava Splash! Also extremely pudgy... look how round this tiny frog is.

(I did manage to give them crickets for a while - there were some XS crickets that were fresh enough to not be mostly dead at one of the petstores, and Guava is much more enthusiastic for the crickets than for the fruit flies, haha. Almost equal to the enthusiasm for caterpillars. Borderline vicious going after them!)


The face of a killer.


One more!


Ripley!



(This picture is from Alex) It's Clickbait! He's still clicking away!


One of the spider:

The poor, kidnapped spider. At least he seems pretty content to feast on fruit flies, ha.



Not a pet. But my beloved library plant (a peperomia scandens) is blooming again! (I'm still unreasonably salty about the time I tried to look it up, and found an article saying that your peperomia scandens will basically never ever bloom inside, and if it ever does, the flowers are unremarkable and uninteresting. >:( Don't call her spiky flowers uninteresting!)


And not a pet per se, but here's a tracing of Cy's pawprint. Alex wants to get it tattooed, but all we have is a plaster print, so had to figure out a way to transfer it to paper.

Misc post:

Nov. 14th, 2025 09:38 pm
mistressofmuses: Image of nebulae in the colors of the bi pride flag: pink, purple, and blue (Default)
Kind of a catch-all post!

Alex had an MRI last week. This was to try and find out exactly what's going on in his neck, causing a lot of pain and occasional numbness. The results came in quite quickly. Basically they all validate "yup, this shit is fucked." I think that's the official medical terminology. Pretty much every individual vertebra has problems of some kind, though some are only "mild," though most are "moderate" with a few "severe." Pretty much what Alex was expecting, but it is a bit vindicating to have the thing that says "yes, medically, this stuff is just so fucked up."




Greenbean II (one of the katydids) passed away yesterday. She made it quite a bit longer than either of our katydids from last year did, and longer than Three. She also left behind many eggs, so we'll see if we can get another generation.

Clickbait is still going pretty strong. I'm impressed! Fingers crossed that he keeps wanting to eat his beans and make noise at every crinkling package in the kitchen.




I am still struggling post time-change. I don't know why I've had such a bad time adjusting this year! I'm still getting tired an hour "early" at night. This mostly gets frustrating because the end of the night is when I try to get my reading done, and so currently I've been reading more slowly than I was, because I fall asleep instead. Getting off of work after it's already been dark for an hour+ also sucks.




I did start kind of looking at my TBR list for next year (and the rest of this year). I've got nine books that I'd really like to finish by the end of the year, though we'll see if I can manage it.

For next year, my initial tentative goal is to read 50 books. I've managed more than that this year, and it'd be great if I could do it again!

More specifically, my goal is to get through some of the “classics” that I feel I *should* have read, and then put off reading out of misplaced guilt over not having read them yet, because anxiety is stupid: The Hobbit and Lord of the Rings, Ursula K Le Guin, and Terry Pratchett. The Hobbit/LotR is technically a reread, but I barely remember my first read through and I didn't enjoy it. For UKLG I planned to start with the Earthsea stories, and for PTerry I planned to start with the Watch books.
I also want to read the queer-themed ebooks from the charity bundle I purchased.
I also want to read the Up and Under novellas.
I also want to reread the Murderbot Diaries in preparation for the new one that comes out in May.

Then I actually did the math on that list: 4 Tolkien + 7 Earthsea + 8 Watch + 14 queer ebooks + 4 Up and Under + 8 Murderbot (including the new one) + 4 new releases for ongoing series that will be coming out next year = 49 books. So. Only one other TBR book for the whole year, if I'm aiming for 50??? (Not even taking into account any books I read with Alex or Taylor, or any of my "brain candy" side reads.)

Oof. Gotta realign some of those expectations.

Currently my plan is to prioritize LotR and the Murderbot reread. For the queer ebooks, the UKLG books, and the Terry Pratchett books I will make sure they're in a regular rotation of the TBR list, but I'm not going to worry about whether I get through all of those within the course of the year. Time is fake; as much as I like having a nice even spot (like the new year) to wrap something up and start something new, it's not illegal for me to carry my same goals forward into 2027.

Assuming we're all still here and not in a smoking crater, ha.
mistressofmuses: Image of nebulae in the colors of the bi pride flag: pink, purple, and blue (Default)
Part three of the periodic pet pictures. This time, the invertebrates!

We still have all three of the katydids.


They still love their green beans!

Three and Green Bean II had been clicking at each other quite a lot. While she'd never really responded to Clickbait, she was replying to Three when he'd click at her. So we let them have a "date" in the same enclosure for a while, and within about five minutes they got down to it.


Two pictures of sexy katydid sex:

That's Three in front, and Green Bean II behind him.


And you can see the uh... gift, he handed back to her.


After that we separated them back to their own enclosures.

But later evidence of their success:


Some fresh katydid eggs!

Generally the eggs overwinter. None of the ones laid last year hatched, which could be because they weren't fertile, or it could have been because they didn't get a chance to overwinter properly, and staying at room temperature all winter wasn't enough for their development. We may try putting these in my mom's garage for the season to see if they'll hatch in the spring.

And one more invertebrate:

The unnamed spider:


I accidentally kidnapped this poor spider several weeks ago. I went out to cut some new branches for the katydids and accidentally brought it inside, so I put it in a spare enclosure for the night. But then it immediately got chilly, and I was afraid of freezing the poor thing...

So now he's been staying in the spare habitat eating some of Guava Splash's fruit flies.


One more spider pic:

Delicious fruit flies.


So there's the pet updates!
mistressofmuses: Image of nebulae in the colors of the bi pride flag: pink, purple, and blue (Default)
Part two of the monthlyish pet pics! This time devoted to the coldblooded vertebrates.

This time we have:

Berry Mad!


In her most fashionable hat!

(You can see right in front of her that she has started to dig the water out of her pond to make mud for herself. Previously, she would push her dirt into the pond to make mud, but apparently this year, she has decided she likes this way better.)


Four more pictures of Berry Mad:

Sittin' in her plant.


Not the clearest, but 'tis the time of year where she starts to burrow.


Toad? What toad? I don't see a toad.


Buried in her self-made mud. But then I dumped crickets in, and she immediately sat up, haha.


Guava Splash!


So small it makes me want to cry.


Three more pictures of Guava Splash:

(This picture is from Alex. Showing off the other side of the tiniest frog.)


So small.


This picture is from just yesterday. Tiny frog is looking a little chubby!
(Which is actually a relief... I was worried about getting something so small to eat enough to stay healthy.)


And mom and Taylor's garter snake, who has been named Ripley!

(Ripley, because she looks "ripple-y" when she moves, but also because Alien is great.)


She's so cute. She likes her little plant.


Just one more of Ripley:

I love her and her cute little face.
mistressofmuses: Image of nebulae in the colors of the bi pride flag: pink, purple, and blue (Default)
Too many pictures of my (or family's) pets is of course what takes up most of my camera roll.

So here are the fuzzy pets!

It's Bella!


One of her favorite bones. It makes me laugh when it looks like she's holding it like a cigar, lol.


Two more:

Always a majestic sleeper.


And of course some good psycho-puppy eyes.


And Jaspurr, mom and Taylor's cat!


He's so cute.


Three more:


Lookit the little toe beans!


This really is his natural state.


This picture was from Taylor. I bought him the little toy Dia de Muertos fish, because I thought it was cute. The utter tragedy, of having dropped it to the next stair. :(


ETA: Whoops, forgot one!


This one is from my mom. We just found it funny how much he looks like the cat on his food bag, haha.

The frog/toad/snake and invertebrates will get separate posts, so that it's not too damn long, ha.
mistressofmuses: Image of nebulae in the colors of the bi pride flag: pink, purple, and blue (Default)
A nice dietary supplement over the summer for the toad and frog is caterpillars from my mom's garden. Both Berry Mad and Guava Splash seem very excited for caterpillars. Berry Mad is excited about anything that moves and might fit in her face, but Guava Splash is significantly more excited for caterpillars than the usual fruit flies.

Berry Mad:


The target.


Three more pictures of toad vs. caterpillar:


Target locked!


Chomp!


Delicious!


Guava Splash:


The target.


Three more pictures of tiny frog vs. caterpillar:


Target locked!


Chomp!


Delicious! (Love the tiny bit of caterpillar sticking out.)
mistressofmuses: Image of nebulae in the colors of the bi pride flag: pink, purple, and blue (Default)
A few people said they'd be interested in the recipe my vet had for an at-home kidney diet for dogs.

Here's what she gave me!


It's an older recipe (from the 80s), but she says it's still solid in terms of the proportions of protein/fat/carbs that do best for kidney issues. The source is Hills.

What makes this kidney-friendly is that it's a restricted protein diet.

Ingredients:
1/4 lb ground beef (do not use lean/chuck)*
2 cups cooked white rice, no salt**
1 hard-cooked egg, finely chopped
3 slices of white bread, crumbled
1t (5g) calcium carbonate***
Add a dietary supplement for vitamins and minerals

Cook the beef, stirring lightly until browned. Stir in the rest of the ingredients until mixed well. Add water (not milk) if the mixture is too dry. Yields about 1 1/4 lb of food.

* It seems like it's hard to find anything OTHER than lean ground beef, and chuck (80%) I don't think is considered "lean." I think you can generally find 73%, which is what I think we'll try. I'm guessing this recommendation is because you want the higher fat content.

** Specifying both white rice and white bread does not surprise me. That was one of the things that did surprise a lot of the family when my grandmother had to be on a renal diet, that you want white rice and bread, not brown or whole grain.

*** The bottom of the page helpfully suggests going to a grocer to purchase eggshells for the calcium carbonate. My vet has helpfully written in "Tums" as an alternative, haha. This works out to five tablets, at least of the type we have, since they are 1000mg each.
I wasn't sure why this quantity of calcium was recommended, but a quick search says that it's a common use in dogs and cats with kidney disease, because it helps to bind to the extra phosphates in their blood. (Creatinine being the one that she said was most elevated for Cy.)

Analysis of the recipe:
Protein 6.9%
Fat 5.5%
Carbohydrate 21.1%
Moisture 65.5%
750 kcalories/lb of food

Now, for Cy's weight, he'd need to eat a bit more than the recipe yields per day (though it could scale up fairly easily, and we would probably be cooking it in bulk anyway.)

Unfortunately, rice was already a significant part of the diet we were giving the dogs (since Bella is allergic to wheat), but Cy has decided to go on a rice strike, and now refuses to eat it. We'd actually just started replacing it with bread, which he loves! So maybe we'll try substituting in more bread and less rice.

We are giving him the kidney foods we got samples of (she gave us three cans and three ziplocs of different dry foods.) We had him try a few of each of the kibbles, all of which he liked, and he got to try some of the Royal Canin wet food, I think with some of the same brand's kibble mixed in as well for dinner tonight, and he *cleaned* that bowl. So he likes the food.

But as everyone else pointed out, and I already knew, it is *expensive*. $120 for a case of 24 cans, with feeding guidelines to feed *three cans per day* for a dog of his weight? That's about $15/day, and unfortunately... I don't think we can afford that.

Now, beef and eggs are also pretty expensive! But it's going to be a lot less than $15 a day.

I'm also thinking about maybe combining the two. We typically feed twice a day, so maybe the home diet once per day, and the commercial food once per day? Primarily the home recipe, but with a half a can/a small serving of the kibble per day added in? That would maybe let him reap some of the benefits of the commercial diet (additional supplements that they include, etc.) while not being AS big a budget blow for us, while still making sure that everything he's getting falls within the guidelines for a better diet for him.
mistressofmuses: Image of nebulae in the colors of the bi pride flag: pink, purple, and blue (Default)
His liver function is good, so he gets to stay on his pain meds!

His thyroid is a little low, but barely outside of normal range.

His kidney function is not as good. It's not dangerous, but his creatine is elevated. It's around a 2.5 when it should be down in the .5 to around 1 range. According to the vet, 10+ is when you're approaching kidney failure territory.

Monday or Tuesday we'll stop back by the vet to get some samples of kidney diet food, and see if we can find one that he likes. The vet said she also has a home-feeding recipe for a kidney-friendly diet, so I'll get that, too. (We haven't ever found a commercial dog food that the dogs do very well on, so we do make their food. Though if Cy likes any of the foods we get samples of, that may be what we go with for him.) Fortunately, it is something we can try to adjust his diet to help with.

I am not terribly surprised about him having kidney issues. The mystery illness he had many years ago absolutely had kidney involvement along with everything else, and we suspected at the time that there would be lasting damage. We avoided any high-protein foods, but it's likely that we now need to actually start aiming for low-protein for him.
mistressofmuses: Image of nebulae in the colors of the bi pride flag: pink, purple, and blue (Default)

(Cy and Bella, sleeping.)

Today was annual vet visit day for both dogs. (It's a little hard to believe it's been more than a year since Cy's emergency vet health scare.)

They each got their physical exams and their leptospirosis shots.

Cy is only down about a half pound from last year, and while I'd *like* him to gain a pound or two, that's pretty good. Bella has dropped a couple pounds, which is odd, because she doesn't look like she's lost weight. But we'll try to get a couple more pounds on her. (She's close to the weight she was when we first brought her home, and she looked *terrible* then; she looks pretty good now.)

Both of them were very good for their exams. Cy of course always is, but even Bella handled it well. She is NOT a fan of getting her temperature taken, and jumped pretty hard when she got her lepto shot, but she did great. Cy was just happy to be getting so much attention and didn't react at all to his shot.

Cy appears to have a lingering mild ear infection. He had one a while back (started right before the handful of days I'd stayed at my mom's) but we thought it had cleared up. There wasn't any visible gunk and he'd stopped the head-shaking. It's not serious, but still there. The vet gave him a topical antibiotic (a nice tube of goop squirted into the ear). She also showed me how to clean out his ears and gave me an easy recipe to mix up to help with it. (I hadn't been going quite deep enough when I was cleaning them, turns out.) Can't clean it out for two weeks, as the antibiotic is supposed to stay in there, so he's gross and slimy with antibiotic ointment until then, haha.

He also had a little gum inflammation around his bad teeth, though not nearly as bad as it has been in the past. He's too old to want to do a full tooth-cleaning under anesthesia, but she did as much tartar removal as she could. He also got a short course of antibiotics for the gums + the ear.

We'll get the results of his bloodwork in a few days. He has a refill of his Rimadyl, but the results of the bloodwork will determine whether we can keep him on it. (I hope so - it seems to help him quite a bit.)

The tech said he was just so good for his blood draw and his teeth cleaning, ha. (I believe it for the blood draw; I am more skeptical that he was good about his teeth.)

-

Bella also then got to go on a long walk around a local lake (after Cy got dropped off at home), so she had a Very Big Day.

-

Of course, the very day that I had to drop several hundred dollars at the vet, the truck very suddenly started sputtering and running EXTREMELY rough and the check engine light came on. Fuuuuuuuck.

So we will have to take it in tomorrow and find out what the problem is. It could be anything from "replace the fuel filter" or "replace a spark plug" to "your fuel injector is fucked" or "your catalytic converter is fucked". So I'm really hoping it's on the simple end instead of the "we're fucked" end, but I am very afraid to find out which it is.
mistressofmuses: Image of nebulae in the colors of the bi pride flag: pink, purple, and blue (Default)
Had a good birthday! :)


Here is Berry Mad lurking in her pool.

The weather was nice enough to be outside, so we went to the neighborhood park to let the dogs go for a walk. Cy was surprisingly enthusiastic and made it all the way around half of the park without even seeming tired!

This is still false spring. We may be looking at some terrible weather again by the end of the week, and almost certainly next week. Enjoying it while it lasts, though! The trees have buds! Not leafing out yet, but... soon!


Some robins:

A pair of robins in a crabapple tree.


Another robin!

We have robins around basically all year, but start seeing more as spring approaches. They're cheerful looking and sounding, and I like seeing them.


Then we dropped Cy at home, since he does not like being in the car for long, and does definitely get tired more easily. After that, we went back out to Pelican Pond to walk around there for a bit.

We didn't actually make it very far around, because Bella didn't seem to feel very well. Probably a quarter mile or so before turning around, so a half mile ish. I think she was just tired, and she was fine after we got home and she took a power nap, haha.

The water was pretty low. Lots of different ducks and other water birds, plus many turtles!


A turtle on the shore, and crows playing in the air!


Some more turts:

Turtles on a free-floating log! And seagulls on the island.


The turtle on shore. Definitely watching me very closely, but didn't dart away the way they usually do.


Later in the afternoon we went over to my mom and Taylor's. My mom made me a peach pie. <3

(For gifts, I got books, haha. Of course! I tried to limit myself to asking for things that I knew were going to be on my TBR list, but that I just didn't own yet, so I'm trying very hard not to add to the enormous list!

I got Installment Immortality, which will jump the line to be my next read after the current one is done. I also got The Left Hand of Darkness, since it was not included in the UKLG ebooks, and is one I know I want to read; The Count of Monte Cristo because I did not ever have to read it for school, and Taylor says it is very, very good, but oh man, 1300 pages; Bury Your Gays, because of course; and House of Leaves because it seems to be such a unique reading experience, and has a lot of impact on like, meta storytelling type stuff, even if people are divided on how much they like the work itself, and I love weird architectural horror.)


And we got to see and play with Jaspurr. He's so cute and sweet!

Still dealing with the remnants of the cold, but I think I lucked out on missing the worst of it. I've had coworkers sick for weeks, out for days at a time. I'm mildly miserable, and so extremely tired of blowing my nose, but still functional... I tried to do without any meds for the last day two days, but I don't think I'm quite there yet. Back to the day/nyquil.
mistressofmuses: Image of nebulae in the colors of the bi pride flag: pink, purple, and blue (Default)
Today is Alex's birthday! :D

Unfortunately, I woke up with a sore throat, so I do not seem to have actually dodged the crud going around the office, despite my hopes.

-

Last Friday Bella had another FastCAT. Alex was surprised to realize this was only her fourth.


(Photo from Alex.) Oh look, it's Bella.


Bella's times at the FastCAT! 10.76 seconds is her current best!

Her second time was slower, which we chalked up to lower endurance after a mostly sedentary winter.

...until later that afternoon after she'd taken a nap, and when she got up she didn't want to put weight on one of her back legs. She could walk on it, just very gimpy. I took a look when I got home, and it looked like it was just some muscle swelling. She probably pulled something during one of the runs, but was still so hyped she wasn't showing it. I was worried that she'd really be struggling on Saturday, since it seemed to stiffen up whenever she was laying down, then slowly improve when she moved around on it... but on Saturday she was absolutely fine, and barely even a little hitchy. So that was a relief!

Five more pictures of four pets: )

Dogs!

Dec. 20th, 2024 08:29 pm
mistressofmuses: Image of nebulae in the colors of the bi pride flag: pink, purple, and blue (Default)

Dog tetris.


A little Bella face.

While Alex and I were out shopping for some Xmas stuff earlier in the month, we found a fairly inexpensive dog bed. Cy loves beds, and while he has a nice memory foam one, he used to have a softer one to layer on top of it. (That one was unfortunately ruined some time ago.)


It seems like a winner.


So cozy!


(Alex took this picture.) Bella seems to like it, too!
mistressofmuses: Image of nebulae in the colors of the bi pride flag: pink, purple, and blue (Default)
As if the last post where I was worried about not having seen her in a while summoned her...

She was out on Monday morning!


That container behind hers is the cricket enclosure. I'm personifying, but she looked wistful.


She did look a little thinner than I'd like, though it's hard to tell.

I sprinkled some more crickets in.


Target acquired!


She missed! (Not... even terribly close.)

She got it on the next try, though. :)


That's the grumpy face I know and love!

I saw her eat at least two crickets, and probably at least one or two more. She was out for a while, and soaked in the pond for a bit.

She reburrowed shortly after, but was out again later today. :) She may go back into the burrow for another extended period, but at least for now, I'm glad to have seen her recently and seen that she seems to be doing well!
mistressofmuses: Image of nebulae in the colors of the bi pride flag: pink, purple, and blue (Default)
A couple months ago, Berry Mad started getting really restless in her terrarium. Trying to climb the walls, flinging herself against them, leaping end to end, filling her pond with substrate...


Here she is, perched on top of her hide, staring wistfully out the window.

One day I looked in and couldn't find her... because she had in fact completely buried herself.

Now, this would be the right time for a hibernating species to start doing that... but I'd really prefer that she not do that. (Mainly because I know that sometimes coming out of hibernation is a struggle.)

I picked up a bigger terrarium from storage at my mom's, hoping that a little more space would make her happier. We also moved the new habitat nearer to the plant light, so that she'd get more "daylight," in case it was the shorter sunlight at the north-facing window that was triggering it. That also pulls her away from the window, in case it was getting cold there overnight, even though it's pretty warm in the apartment.


...And she immediately burrowed again.

I'm not sure that she is actually trying to hibernate. There are lots of species of toads - including Woodhouse's - that tend to burrow year-round. Our previous Woodhouse's toad didn't ever have an inclination to burrow, preferring a sideways flowerpot as a shelter, but maybe Berry Mad just feels differently.

For a while she was coming out pretty regularly, every couple of days to soak in the pond for a bit and re-burrow somewhere else.



...But we haven't seen her come out for a while now.

A week or so ago, Alex asked if he thought we should dig her up to check on her, but I was able to look in the "entrance" of her current burrow and she was just staring at us, so we didn't disturb her. Now she's moved the burrow and I can't look in, but I assume she's still doing all right.

I'd like proof that she was eating something, though. I've dumped crickets in there, but I don't know if they've just found good hiding spots or if she's eaten them, ha.

RIP Ophelia

Dec. 7th, 2024 08:09 pm
mistressofmuses: Image of nebulae in the colors of the bi pride flag: pink, purple, and blue (Default)
Ophelia (my black widow) died. :(

It was very sudden, and I'm not completely sure what happened. There was some discoloration around her abdomen, and I wonder if she may have had a bad molt. I'm not sure that's what happened... it just seemed very sudden. She'd eaten a couple weeks ago, and was still a good size. She had water available. Nothing had changed in her habitat. She was fine one day and down on the ground the next.

Typically they live 1-3 years (sometimes up to 4 in captivity.) We don't know how old she was, but I wouldn't have guessed that old.

She was really interesting to watch, and I feel bad if there was something wrong about her care or habitat that caused her to die. Or perhaps it was something unavoidable. I'm just not sure.
mistressofmuses: Image of nebulae in the colors of the bi pride flag: pink, purple, and blue (Default)
Mostly I just feel really behind. The whole *gestures* everything with the election makes it hard to want to do or say much of anything, but I'm trying to get back to doing... something. Catching up here. Writing something.

My break from work was sort of a nothing span of time. We did almost nothing in terms of "going out to do things" and I did almost nothing in terms of "productive personal projects that would have been worthwhile uses of the time."

I spent a couple nights hanging out with Taylor, Sunday (Oct 27th) through Tuesday (Oct 29th). That was fun.

Unfortunately, that Sunday night, Cy started really having a hard time walking. Just about as bad as the first time we'd taken him to the emergency vet. I wasn't home, but Alex was extremely worried. He did start to slowly improve after that, though! Alex was concerned that maybe he'd had a stroke, because his balance was so bad, and he only wanted to turn to the left. I'm more inclined to think it was still just pain, and that moving right was more painful. He wasn't *incapable* of turning the other direction; just reluctant to. He's been continuing to get better, and was back to wanting to run and play by the end of the week, but it was a bad couple of days.

That same Sunday night into Monday, the first katydid, Greenbean, died. :( I knew that late-October - mid-November was about the longest I could expect to have them, but it was still sad to have him go. It's about a month longer than he likely would have lived in the wild, and he overcame that terrible probable-poisoning, and seemed to have a happy month with us, judging by his enthusiastic clicking and eating of green beans.

I miss the clicking. :(

That Tuesday (the 29th), we did our one "go out and do things," which was going to a haunted house. It was fun, though I feel like Alex always goes through them faster than I want to! But there were a lot of cool sets and fun costume pieces. There were two houses: one was nautical-themed and one was more traditional haunted house. Both were neat, but the second one felt a bit more engaging, like it was just better established, maybe. It was a good time, and I'm glad we went.

Halloween itself was kind of a bummer, just in terms of how little we did, but it wasn't *bad.*

Friday (Nov 1st) we did a big grocery trip, but Alex started feeling sick partway through, so I wound up doing most of it solo.

Saturday (Nov 2nd) was a model show. We'd spent much of the week leading up to it doing prep for that, as this one was focused on collectibility (so emphasis on things like age/rarity/condition) rather than the shows we usually go to, where the focus is more on realism. The show... did not go terribly well for us, haha. Not a lot of winners, though the show itself was good. Two of the few winning horses we had were my two from the last couple years of "NaMoPaiMo" - my wisteria stained-glass styled horse (who got second in her class) and my art-deco peacock horse (who got first in his!) I was quite happy about that.
My mom kindly watched the dogs, even though it meant barricading part of her house off so that the cat wouldn't have to see the dogs at all.

Sadly also on Saturday, the second katydid, Moodring, passed away. We suspected it was coming, as she was suddenly eating far less, and then on Friday night she didn't want to move when I got into her cage to swap out her food. :(

RIP, my katydids. I'm glad we had you for a little while, and I hope it was a decent life of green beans and no predators. I miss the clicking.

We are left with somewhere around 30 or more katydid eggs, as Moodring just kept laying them. I don't know how many of them are viable (if any), as the two weren't housed together for very long. There are a few obvious "duds" - ones that are small and dark, obviously different than the bigger, smoother tan ones... but whether they're *actually* fertilized or not, I don't know. We'll keep an eye on them and figure out what to do if we DO wind up with a bunch of katydid nymphs.

Time change has not been terribly kind to me. I am definitely feeling the impact from having it get dark so early.

The election happened on Tuesday and was a bit of a dismal, miserable shock. I still don't have anything better or more meaningful to say about it. I am still afraid of what will be coming.

The return to work was mostly fine, except that now it's dark by the time I leave, which is tough. One of my work friends (our lead instructor) had to go on surprise leave to take care of his father.

We had a major winter storm come through starting on Thursday. It snarled local roads a lot less significantly than expected (Friday night and Saturday morning were supposed to be basically impossible to navigate, but thankfully we did not actually have any trouble.) The storm total by the airport came in at 20", so it was a pretty significant storm! I was super concerned about the potential for broken branches; with the unseasonably warm weather we've had, lots of trees are still leafed out, and I was afraid the snow would break many of them. Also surprisingly less of a problem than I'd expected!

We had a weird power outage on Friday night. Our bathroom light, bedroom light/fan, microwave, and dishwasher stayed on. Everything else, from outlets to stove to other lights, all went out. We messed with the breakers for a good five or ten minutes before we realized that the lights in the apartment hallways were on their emergency power, so it wasn't just us. The parking lot lights were also out. The street lamps were on, but the traffic signals were out. I've never had something like that happen - as far as I knew, all our power to the building came from the same source, and in the past a power outage has knocked everything out, not left a handful of lights and appliances somehow working.

I haven't wanted to write anything much since the election news, though that'll be its own post, probably.

About the only good thing has been reading. I finished Acceptance and have started Absolution.

This "weekend" I decided to get my covid and flu vax out of the way, while we're still allowed to. The pharmacist who did them for me was great - whichever he did first I almost didn't feel at all, and the second only stung a bit. They haven't knocked me down quite as badly as all the previous covid shots have, but I've still felt under the weather yesterday and today. I'm hopeful I feel a bit better tomorrow when I'm back at work, but shouldn't be so sick I can't tough it out.

Unless of course, I'm just also getting sick. I've felt crappy for much of the week, with intermittent sore throat, but mostly just tiredness. That's worse today, but I'm hoping its just my usual side-effects. I've been falling asleep by 8:00 on some nights, but am still exhausted when I get up the next day. Is it getting sick, or just the depression? I can't quite tell.
mistressofmuses: Image of nebulae in the colors of the bi pride flag: pink, purple, and blue (Default)
Well, just the one spider actually. At least in pictures.

Last year, my mom and Taylor found a very nice big black widow in the house. She had set up a web in the main floor bathroom, and they left her there and named her Ophelia. (Named after Morticia's sister in the Addams Family. My aunt has two black widows in her barn that she named Morticia and Wednesday.)

Ophelia disappeared from the bathroom and next appeared right next to Taylor's computer. That was slightly too close for comfort, so they relocated Ophelia to the basement.

This year they've found a couple smaller black widows in the house. There was the one in the kitchen that was relocated outside in preparation for the cat last month.

And then, while I was over at my mom and Taylor's house this most recent time, my mom drew my attention to the wet bar sink...


A black widow in the sink!

I scooped her into a jar.


She wasn't completely delighted. And boy is she fast!

I gifted her to Alex. We named her Ophelia II, because while I have no proof that she is actually the original Ophelia's offspring, she could be.


I set up a habitat for her. Spare coconut fiber substrate from Berry Mad's habitat, some sticks, a couple rocks, a sideways glass flowerpot as a hide in case she wanted a dark spot.

She did not want a dark spot, and immediately set to building a web between two of the sticks.

I put a couple crickets into the habitat.


And she caught one! :D

She also looks quite a bit rounder than she did when I first caught her, so I'm guessing being well-fed is part of the classic widow shape.

We're assembling quite the collection of arthropods.

Profile

mistressofmuses: Image of nebulae in the colors of the bi pride flag: pink, purple, and blue (Default)
mistressofmuses

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1 2 3 45 6 7
89 10 11 121314
151617 18 19 2021
2223 24 25 26 2728
293031    

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 10:33 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios